Help with sleep system for the wet and windy Pacific Northwest

Hi all,

To be honest, I'm very new to backpacking and camping in general, but I've been slowly building up my kit and now feel that I want to start spending some nights in the woods to learn the skills and prepare for the 2017 blacktail season.

For shelter, I have a megatarp and medium ti stove, but I'd like a sleep system that will work well when I'm stoveless. For actual sleeping, I have a Jimmy Tarps Summit bivy and a Sea-to-Summit Ultralight Insulated inflatable pad. I'm now looking for a sleeping bag or quilt to go in the bivy.

I'll be spending most of my time in the timber with a few higher elevation alpine hikes, but for the most part, rain and wind are my companions and not snow. I'd guess that temps would normally be in the 0*C to 10*C range through the fall and winter.

I'm trying to keep my gear light for mobility, but also balancing it with "good value for money" --- I don't mind spending money on equipment that works well, but I don't mind saving my money either. However, I definitely fall into the category of "buy once, cry once" rather than buying something and not being fully satisfied with it.

I believe I'm a warmish sleeper, and I generally sleep soundly in adverse conditions, so I'm thinking I can get away with a lighter bag. I also have some good wool undergarments that I can sleep in for added warmth. Down looks tempting from the weight and packability, but I've seen recommendation for synthetic insulation for damp conditions.

So given that I have the following gear, what should I add for fall/winter sleeping comfort in the the Pacific Northwest (Victoria, BC to be exact, right near northern Washington State):

- Kifaru Megatarp
- Jimmy Tarps silpoly/momentum 90 bivy
- Sea-to-Summit Ultralight insulated pad

Thanks!

Last edited:

jtw

WKR