first traditional shots, So confused!

Pgohil

WKR
Jumping into the traditional game after 20 years shooting a compound. Went to my local shop and shot 2 bows. A 60" green mountain meca lowbow @ 45 lbs, and a 58" Bearpaw ILF recurve @ 40.
I went into this assured I wanted a recurve. But now I'm more confused than ever. I was explained how much easier limbs torque/trust and deflect on a recurve and could see it. The longbow is way more forgiving and significantly quieter, but of course slower.

The longbow was much lighter in hand which seems important to me right now. The recurve felt better and more like a compound grip, but also had a lot more vibration.

I've been shooting a compound for 20 years. In can tell the difference between low end, mid-range and higher quality bows. I'm not looking for Asian junk to start with, nor am I looking for a custom $1,000 set up either. I'm not nostalgic, I'm just looking for another challenge and enjoyable way to hunt.

I like some recommendations from the group in regards to recur versus longbow as well as other models I should try out. Hunting is the end goal. 5'-7" with a 27" draw.

Thanks for your help.

PD Gohil
WV

Wrench

WKR
You need to shoot a bunch of grip styles before you get too invested.

I have a bunch of bows, most are from top builders and I started thinking I wanted that 3 piece big riser high grip bow.....what I found is a classic hill style low wrist grip works well for me.

Torque can be applied to any grip, but higher wrist grips where the web of your thumb and first finger bear the load are the easiest to be consistent.

Really just need to shoot several.

There's a bodnik in the classys right now that is a good bow at a great price.

Te Hopo

Lil-Rokslider
I'm in the same boat, figuring out what I like/works for me.

So to start off with I bought a Black Hunter recurve and a Bear Montana longbow.
Both are affordable, good quality and are doing their job.