Elk Hunting in NM

clayss90

FNG
Hello So I drew my first ever tag for ELK ES in NM for the 1st archery hunt. The unit I am in has a crap ton of trails and roads any advice for finding quiet places in units like that. I am completely new to this and really dont want to waste this oppurtunity. i am nervous because all he areas i scouted didnt have any live elk just signs they passed through though the beef covered foot prints. I have zero people that can really mentor me this year physically. any helpful advice on finding areas that would have less traffic.

NMonit

FNG
Post the unit and some of us might be able to offer advice. Without knowing the month/location, you'll just receive general info you can get from googling "how to find elk in "x" month. I'm guessing the Sept 1-14 hunt? I just came back from scouting some northern units and might be able to offer some advice depending on where.

Felix40

WKR
People in NM are generally super lazy. A unit with more roads will make them even more lazy. You shouldn’t have to go far from the road to find spot that aren’t getting pressure. Hike over one big ridge or to the bottom of a big canyon and most people won’t want to do that. Don’t hike on trails.

It’s not like CO where you are going to have dudes set up camp 20 yards away when you’re 7 miles deep.

Gapmaster

WKR
since i am new i cant really discuss unit specifics but its around cuba area