Digi/phonescoping

1badDart

FNG
I'm new to the idea of phonescoping and would like to explore it more. I have a Kowa TSN-663 with a 20-60 eye piece and an iphone 12 mini. Is phone scoping worth the initial investment, $100 minimum from what I've found?

Thanks, Justin

Joker9937

FNG
I have enjoyed phonescoping. If you do not mind being limited to static shots and manual focus, I think, you can get some decent stuff. Kowa is a great brand, and they have a good group of guys that are willing to give advice on phonescoping.

As far as I know, though, most of the phonescope "pros" from Kowa are not hunters. Not a big deal, but just FYI.

I started with a Zeiss Diascope 85, then Kowa Prominar 88, and currently have a Swarovski STX95. I have been trying to sell the Swaro, because I started down the "real" photography rabbit hole. But, I am on the fence at the moment, regarding selling the scope or not. Zeiss was a great scope, Kowa different excellent, and now the Swaro is excellent too.

So, all of that to say, the "$100" investment is just a start. You can get great results, but you also will likely end up spending more. LOL.

This merganser is one of my very first digiscoped photos. It was with the Zeiss ($650 used), an inexpensive tripod and head, and (I think) a Samsung Note 10. Less than $1k in equipment, not including the phone.

The GHO is with the Swarovski, a different Samsung phone (S21 Ultra?), and a much more expensive carbon tripod and fluid head. Probably $6k or so in stuff, not including the phone.

I don't think there is much difference. The merganser is cropped more, and there are things that are better about the GHO, but I do not think there is $5k difference.

The point is, you can get good stuff with a minimal expense. Don't get sucked into the gear addiction like my wife's husband. And, yes, $100 is worth it, if you buy stuff like Phonescope, etc.

PSX_20200407_091648 by Scott Straub, on Flickr

Great Horned Owl by Scott Straub, on Flickr