Cramping…

I had terrible leg cramping at night after going on a diuretic for an unrelated issue. My doc told me to take Mag Ox (magnesium oxide). That solved the issue so I think it was related to the meds dehydrating me and needing to replenish magnesium that was getting depleted. I am not a medical professional and this is only a “ It happened to me “ kind of story.

Piranha37

FNG
I use at least 2 Nuun tablets in water per day. Another thing I’ve found useful is to pack a little muscle rolling ball (baseball size but solid) and roll muscles every night. It helps with the circulation and seems to prevent cramping.

xsn10s

WKR
I can't drink any beer anywhere close to a hike.

I use hydrate and recover. At least one per day when hiking.
Keep extra and lmnt for pack outs.

Drink bcaa before bed. This really helps, I can go to bed w smoked legs. And without a doubt this doubles my recovery.

Salt stick chewables in hip belt and bino pouch for pack outs etc where I'm out of water or can't really get to it because a slapped on to much meat and am throwing it down for the truck.

Cold Gatorade always at the truck.
Yup for some reason beer leads to horrible leg cramps for me. Bananas, pickle juice and Gatorade helped me. I'll try the mustard, amino acid, and the other mixes suggested on here.

Last edited:
OP
Ucsdryder

Ucsdryder

WKR
Yup for some reason beer leads to horrible leg cramps for me. Bananas, pickle juice and Gatorade helped me. I'll just the mustard, amino acid, and the other mixes suggested on here.
Mustard is an absolute game changer. 2 packets does the trick for me. Takes about 5 minutes to kick in.

I don't know if this has been conveyed. Muscle cramps can be either sodium/potassium/magnesium deficiencies.

We need a massive amount of K (potassium). 4700mg/day (e.g., over 50 bananas). I get mine through K supplements in a 500mg/pill, avocados daily, red meat, dairy, and eggs. Additionally, Dr. Berg's electrolytes have 1000mg/packet (or Keto-1000).