Colorado Fall Black Bear Hunt

Kylerjay05

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all, I'm looking to do my first bear hunt this coming fall and I have a slew of questions. If you have experience hunting bear (specifically in Colorado) and would be willing to let me pick your brain, please send me a DM. Thanks in advance.

Hi, I've been hunting bear in CO for a few years on and off, and while I am no expert, I have tagged a bear in CO, and helped a couple of friends do so as well. New to the forum so let me know if/how I can help.

OP
Kylerjay05

Kylerjay05

Lil-Rokslider
Thanks for reaching out. I'm honestly just in over my head trying to figure out what it will take to give me the best opportunity to see bears. I have 2 points and was thinking about a specific unit.. but I only have a 20% chance of drawing with 2 points. So, honestly I'm open to any and all information, tactics etc somebody can give. I've hunted the later seasons for elk and deer but never the September season. So i have nothing to go off of.

Last edited:
Thanks for reaching out. I'm honestly just in over my head trying to figure out what it will take to give me the best opportunity to see bears. I have 2 points and was thinking about unit 61... but I only have a 20% chance of drawing with 2 points. So, honestly I'm open to any and all information, tactics etc somebody can give. I've hunted the later seasons for elk and deer but never the September season. So i have nothing to go off of.
Is 61 a 3pt unit just because of pressure and it’s an add on tag or are bears that good?

Basically I’m saying don’t get tunnel visioned on bear units. Just get a tag and go cover country

ibchez

FNG
I am also interested in doing the fall bear hunt. Maybe a stupid question. Just a quick one about preseason scouting. If I am able to scout over the summer, family vacation, I would be looking for feed and likely terrain? I assume your'e looking for beary areas as opposed to individual bears correct?

WKR