Colorado 2022 DIY Backcountry Hunting Partner

Spoony

FNG
Not sure why this feels like a M4M post, but anyway...

About me, My name is Derrick, I am a 40 YO mechanical engineer, avid hunter and fly fisherman, new to Colorado, new to elk hunting, new to mule deer hunting, new to this forum. I am located in Golden, CO to be exact. I am rarely serious, have been known to carry a 12 pack of beer on long backpacking trips, I drink too much in my free time, and I am funny (maybe in my own mind). I am an extremely ethical hunter, started hunting at 11 YO, and treasure these mountains and the animals that use them. I do not tolerate public land yahoos, so if you litter, take bad or unsafe shots, harass animals, muzzle flash me or my dog one too many times, you and I will not last. I am by the book.

I obtained a 2nd rifle Buck tag for GMU 38 in the 3rd choice secondary draw. Not my most sellar draw but I am hell bent on finding a 170+ so close to Denver and am not afraid of not filling the tag. An OTC elk tag will fill the freezer just fine. I value the chase and plan on hunting high country basins in wilderness areas hard, which means backpacks and long hikes from trailheads, and a difficult pack out if successful. I have been on one "kinda" scout trip so far (I mostly fished) and have another planned shortly, 8/5-8/7. I have 2 glassing roosts identified and have seen a few deer in the area. I presume GMU 38 will have leftover tags Aug 2 so tags may be available Aug 2 if interested. I plan on earning my buck, taking it with a rifle this year. But bow hunting intrigues me.

So if you want to come earn a deer with me, scout up some big bucks, shoot some doves Sept. 1, or try to wack 20"+ brown trout on dry flies, I might your man. PM if interested. Ill fill you in on the intel I have gathered this far on the spot.

Hope to meet some cool hunters in the area!

fngTony

Super Moderator
Staff member
Welcome to the Rok! I’m just a bit north of ya in Arvada.

OP
S

Spoony

FNG