CO Outfitter/Good Teacher

Mcribs

FNG
I’m new to Elk/Mountain Hunting, and live in CO. I’ve been reading, talking to other hunters and getting out there when I can. Got my first rifle cow elk last year DYI and I’m hooked. As a 44 yo, I’m trying to accelerate the learning curve. I want to get after mountain hunting hard. Of course, there’s no true shortcut but I think I could speed things up with the right experiences/coaching. I’m in good shape to hustle up mountains.

I’m not looking for someone to put me on elk. Success will not be harvest, but working through the hunt process and learning as we go. I want someone with experience and ability to slow it down and coach through an elk hunt (pre/during).

Any recommendations or thoughts on the direction to take or if you have someone in mind that could help? Also - I don’t have any points, so may need to work OTC archery/2nd/3rd rifle 😬

I was 44 when i did my first elk hunt and was hooked too! I was so hooked in fact i was in the same exact boat, so i started looking everywhere i could to try and find the answers. Luckily i got some great advice from some great elk killers on A/T and the Bowsite and a few of them took me under their wings and mentored me. I asked alot of stupid questions about elk and different situations, what ifs and what could have been type questions based on what I'd seen that first year as well as hypotheticals.

Simply put, i felt an urgency to learn as much as i could as fast as i could. Because let’s face it, once we hit 40, time flies. And as a knew bowhunter, i had and still do have alot to learn. That is one of the beauty's of hunting elk. It’s turned into a lifetime of a learning obsession and it won’t end until i physically can't or am no longer here if ya know what i mean.

Luckily for me i hit the jackpot when i discovered The Elknut! And i started killing elk the very next year and haven’t looked back. My mentors played a huge part as well and i owe them all a huge thank you!