Cleaning BH209?

jm1607

WKR
This is my first time using it..

I just noticed the side of the jug says to only use their Montana Extreme solvent and not to use other solvents.. Is this true? Can I use my Knight brand solvent or do I need to buy this stuff?

CoHiCntry

WKR
Whatever you usually use on your centerfire rifles will work just fine. Don't use any solvent made for muzzleloaders. I use Hoppes #9.

• Banned
OP
jm1607

jm1607

WKR
Ah.. So no Knight Solvent? Can I use Knight saturated pads between shots?

I think I have some Hoppes #9 laying around...

CoHiCntry

WKR
I'm not familiar with Knight solvent. If it's a water based solvent made for black powder then no, you shouldn't use it. You don't need to swab between shots using BH209. Thats kinda the beauty of it, aside from the other benefits in performance. Just clean it up at the end of your range session like you would most centerfire rifles.

Shrek

WKR
Any old regular rifle cleaning solvent will do but like what was said earlier you don't need or want to clean every couple of shots. I've shot well over sixty rounds in one session without cleaning . After about the third shot it reaches a dirty level and just stays there. You do need to clean it when you are done shooting because to make it a legal black powder substitute they have to leave some sulfur in it which will eat up your barrel. Shoots more accurate if you weigh charges rather than use a volume measure. Makes a little difference not a big one.

Travis Bertrand

Super Moderator
Staff member
because it has nitrocellulose in it. it is designed to be cleaned with a solvent that is not water based. Clean it like you would clean you deer rifle. Like shrek said, no need to run patches between shots, just clean it at the end of your shooting session.

For what its worth, Montana Xtreme makes quality cleaning products and they work really well with BH209. They have a formula specifically for the stuff as well. Cant go wrong there!

Travis Bertrand