Can a Sirui VA-5 handle a rifle Mount?

I have a Sirui va-5 and a Promaster CF 525 tripod. I’ve been running my rifles with a Harris bipod but decided to buy an Atlas BT 10 now that they’re on sale for $165 for the blems.
I need to add some 2” pic rails to several rifles for the bipod mount, and I’m considering the 4” arca Swiss + pic rail that unknown munitions sells for my tikka. It’s an 8.5 lbs gun and my main hunting rifle. The reason for my debate is that the VA-5 is rated for 6 lbs. Is it going to handle a heavier gun or not even worth it and just run it off the bipod?
I had a Manfrotto Befree fluid head a few years ago and mounted an 11 lbs gun to it and it was crap. Way too wobble to even consider shooting off it.
So is it a waste of time or can an 8-9 lbs gun stabilize well enough in a VA-5!? Something tells me there’s a reason most PRS guys use the RRS tripods…..thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mscott72

FNG
I think you'd be unhappy with using the VA-5 to shoot off of and might damage it. We shoot from tripods quite a bit. one set up I've used for probably 6 years is a RRS ball head with a Feisol carbon fiber tripod. The Feisol tripod saved a lot of money and the combo has proved to be durable for sure (and huge/bulky)
Last year I bought a Leofoto LS-324C tripod with a LH-40 Ball head. The tripod isn't tall enough for me to shoot while standing but it is for my boy. We've used and abused it quite a bit. I frequently shoot a 12# rifle from it sitting position. Might be better economical solutions out there though.

deadwolf

WKR