Buy Once Cry Once?

Yakoun

FNG
Like so many others, I've been researching mid-range backpacking spotters. I'm new to spotters, and really hunting in general and pitifully low on real world info - which is why I joined this group!

I'm interested in walking a few miles into the high country in my area and giving "real" glassing for Mule Deer the ol' college try to see if I like it. Most of my friends don't hunt and those who do prefer to road hunt. My total investment in optics currently consists of a crossfire rifle scope and a pair of viper 8x42 binos.

In my scope research on this forum (and others), I continually run into a particular mantra: "Buy once, cry once", and the often accompanying "Just save up a few more pennies", when someone is getting talked up from a $500 piece of equipment to a $2000 piece of equipment. In all honestly, this is really frustrating for somebody getting into the sport and it doesn't seem all that real world practical.

So I have a question for the "buy once, cry once" crowd... All due respect intended - I know that you're in this position via a ton of experience! What does one do while they're saving up those pennies to buy the spotter/tripod combos that cost multiple thousands of dollars? Just stay home? Road hunt? Buy super low end while saving?

In your opinion, is there NO place for a starter scope of passable quality? Swarovski or a coke bottle - nothing in between?

handwerk

WKR
Although I enjoy some top tier optics, there likely has never before been so many good bino options between $500 and $1000. If you're serious about hunting/glassing that's where I would start...lots of demo and good deals out there to be had.

JakeSCH

WKR