Bumper Pull Trailer

So I’ve been really contemplating buying a bumper pull trailer outright (no financing). My background is I go hunting 30+ days a year in other states and have been doing tents and/or staying at a buddies house depending on where I’m hunting.

I’ll be moving here within the next 7 months therefore, I’ll probably just hunt 2 - 3 weeks at a time or weekends depending on where I’m hunting/living at next season. I’ll also add the government would pay for the transportation of the trailer as a partial DIY move.

I like that a trailer gets me out of the weather, no hotel rooms, no base camp that when spike camping nobody could steal, shower when needed, a place to cook out of the weather, easier to relocate vs. tearing down base camp, relocating, and setting everything back up etc…

However, I’d like to hear from folks that have gone this route and if so, does it pay for itself? Or have you come to find out it’s just a novelty idea and the trailer never gets used?

I’d like to receive some feedback to assist me in making a decision.

Getting a well cared for used camper is key. Hopefully most of the kinks are ironed out. If you're handy most repairs are straightforward.

My advice:

Avoid stick and tin. Aluminum framing with Azdel is worth the longevity.

Most important thing to inspect is the roof. Leaks can equal death, especially with stick and tin.

Heated and enclosed underbelly is key if you plan to camp below freezing.

Beyond that get as small as you can to fit into tighter spots.

Slides lose heat and can break - go without if possible.

Adding solar is easy and awesome for trickle charging the battery.

Upgrade to better tires if going off pavement.

OP
Tips n Tails
Getting a well cared for used camper is key. Hopefully most of the kinks are ironed out. If you're handy most repairs are straightforward.

My advice:

Avoid stick and tin. Aluminum framing with Azdel is worth the longevity.