Brass?

CBB1

Lil-Rokslider
I started reloading as a kid about 25 years ago pre internet. Back then we used whatever brass we could find often loading and testing with all different types interchanged. Now that I’m getting back into it, it appears that brass brand and quality is a lot bigger issue. I still have tons of mismatched brass, Is it worth using? Setting up to load .270, .243, .300wm .308.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

EddieNel

Lil-Rokslider
I would use them. No reason to let them go to waist. I’m not an expert and probably a novice at best. Separate the brands and load them the same. See if you can tell any difference.

I wouldn’t necessarily describe it as an issue. It depends on what you are after. I think people who are looking to squeeze every bit of accuracy out of a load because they shoot long range or just get off on it, are very particular about their brass. I’m kinda in between. I just want good hunting ammo but do strive for 1 MOA accuracy. A lot of effort and time can go into decreasing MOA by .25 inches. It can be fun to try but is it necessay? Depends on what you are doing with your shooting.

I would use it if it doesn’t have too many firings on it. Or anneal if it does. But would at least sort it by head stamp. It takes little effort and case volumes differ enough to make a difference. And if you loading on the edge of max, case volume should be considered.

I have 100’s of hand me down cases from my Dad. At the price and availability of brass currently, that is what I’m using. It meets my needs.

I started reloading as a kid about 25 years ago pre internet. Back then we used whatever brass we could find often loading and testing with all different types interchanged. Now that I’m getting back into it, it appears that brass brand and quality is a lot bigger issue. I still have tons of mismatched brass, Is it worth using? Setting up to load .270, .243, .300wm .308.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk