Bergara B-14 Wilderness Ridge or Weatherby Vanguard Meateater

Bergara or Weatherby?

• Bergara B-14 Wilderness Ridge 308

Votes: 19 61.3%
  • Weatherby Vanguard Meateater 308

Votes: 12 38.7%

• Total voters
Hey all!

I'm new to western big game, have been a bird hunter my whole life but have decided to take the leap.

After diving down a ton of rabbit holes, I believe I have my choices for rifled narrowed down to the two in the poll.

Disclaimer: Looking to spend less than $1100 for bare rifle and I'd prefer it to be from Sportsman's Warehouse since I have a pretty beefy gift card there... 308 is preferred caliber as ammunition is plentiful and my shots will be under 400yds for elk and deer in Idaho. Ideally 300yds or less, but no situation is ever perfect.

This will be paired with a Leupold VX-5HD 3-15x44 firedot and Talley low rings.

Now for the rifles:

Both have cerakote barrels, both are threaded (not remotely required but I'd like to have it), weights are very similar.

links to both:

Pretty much check all the boxes I'm looking for but now would like some outside opinion if you don't mind!

As an FYI, I have looked at Tikka T3X lite/superlite and I just... don't like the feel. I understand that I can upgrade the stock but I'm looking for a factory setup right now. Someday down the line I'll build my own but today is not that day.

I've also been looking at Browning X-bolt Hell's Canyon Speed but I cannot find it in 308.

ghott

Lil-Rokslider
I have a Wby Meat Eater in 7mm RM and it shoots well, but I was pretty disappointed in the overall fit and finish. The stock, while it looks good, seems cheap and doesn’t fit great IMO. The hinged floor plate fit poorly and was fairly wonky on mine as well. I’m also not a huge fan of Wby not free floating the contour of barrel that the Meat Eater comes with. Not deal breakers for me, and all fixable, but just some things I noticed.