Beginner 101: Selecting an arrow spine to get started

jyatsko

FNG
Hey Guys,

When I purchased by PSE Brute Force a few months ago, it was suggested I go with Easton Axis N-Fused Carbon Arrow Blazer Vanes 300 HIT and a 100 grain head. I need more arrows but they are hard to find, maybe they were discontinued?

Anyway, I’m new to back country archery and was hoping to get some suggestions on a replacement arrow.

Bow: PSE Brute Force
Draw Weight: currently 60lbs, hoping to increase to 65 over the next few months.
Arrow Length: My Easton’s are 29.5 inches, tip to notch.
Hunting Area: high country (north CA, west Sierras) for Mule deer / Blacktail in the lower elevations

As a beginner, I couldn’t tell the difference between a 300 grain or 500 grain arrow, so I’m hoping you guys can help out by making a few suggestions. I’m sure as time goes on, I’ll learn more about spines and form my own opinions but for now, I just need to get more arrows so I can Practice! Practice! Practice!

Thanks in Advance,
J

AKMAN

Lil-Rokslider
J -
I'm still relatively new to archery hunting hunting myself, but from your specs and a 330 IBO sounds like a .300 spine arrow would be just about perfect. You could even bump up to a 125 grain FP/BH.
If you're having trouble finding them, Cabelas will ship them from the manufacture to your door, but then you'll need to find somebody to cut them for you. Lots of places will fletch, cut, and install inserts for a pretty nominal fee before they ship them. All you have to do is screw in your field points. 3 Rivers Archery (www.3riversarchery.com) is more focused on recurves and long bows but does a great job on arrows. Nice if you're a long way from a good shop or don't want to assemble them yourself.