Batting Average? Opportunity to Success Ratio? Mule Deer Archery

Mcribs

FNG
Mid way through my first year archery mule deer hunting, and curious as to how many encounters it takes you guys to close the deal? I’m currently 0/7 and while I’m glad to be in the middle of them, I’m super frustrated to not have a deer down by now. I’ve killed probably 30 whitetails with bow, so while it’s a totally different hunt, I’m not a newbie to killing with a bow.

I’m just down from the mountain, where I just had time to hunt mid day. I still hunted an area, wind in my face, and boom!, saw part of a big deer in aspen. Ranged it at 40 yards, head behind aspens eating. Caught glimpse of nice rack, and went to pull back my bow and something happened where I couldn’t pull it back all the way. Like I was trying to be quiet, and didn’t put any force on the draw. I regrouped and deer bounced away. Literally had perfect 40 yard window into vitals. Couldn’t believe that happened.

Had me thinking, this season, I’ve had 7 opportunities (within 40 yards of bucks). 4 times I stalked within 40, and drew back twice, but shot was too sketch to take or I hesitated. Granted the area is very tough with willows. Got to 40 or under on two still hunts, and spotted another one from road which resulted in a missed shot.

I’m thinking my luck will turn but maybe this is par for the course? What are you guys batting?

Last edited:

bigunit

Lil-Rokslider
The last 3 years I've been 3 for 3 on stalks/kills. It took a long time to get there. The first few years I bowhunted I bumped all sorts of deer. So many different reasons, mostly trying low percentage stalks. I now will pass up stalks on big bucks if the conditions aren't great.