Attrition rate of newby traditional archers

I have a few closes friends and a brother that all got into when I did. I’m the only one not shooting wheels. Small sample size but definitely not for everyone.

I was just curious. Out of all the guys that try out traditional archery how many do you think stick with it long term vs how many give it up fairly quick and go back to a wheel bow? I barely even know any guys that tried it out in the first place. There's not much interest in it around here.
I build bows for a living and the majority of my first timers have stuck with it.

OP
C

cck311

FNG
I build bows for a living and the majority of my first timers have stuck with it.
How new are they generally though? I would think that if someone is buying a custom bow from a custom bowyer they have graduated to a bit past the newby stage.

nphunter

WKR
I bought a traditional bow to do one specific hunt in my state, which happens to be hunting older age class mule deer. I love to shoot the recurve and I shot a lot but I also love to kill screaming elk with my bow and still hunt them with a compound. Maybe someday when I feel like I’d done as much as I can with a compound I’ll hunt elk with a recurve.
I plan to keep doing that trad deer hunt every couple of years because it is a super fun hunt and I’d love to kill a mature mule deer with a recurve. I missed a great buck on the hunt last time I did it and passed up on some smaller bucks I could have killed. I stalked within 15 yards of a nice buck and had a 3 point stand up between us and I chose not to shoot him.
I’m not what I consider a trad hunter but really love my trad bow and shoot it well. Some day when regulars archery tags get impossible to get every year I will switch to a trad bow so I can hunt every year.

will16_

FNG