Archery Elk hunting Solo in grizzly country.

Bachto

WKR
Get some quality ammo for the 45 if you take it. The only thing regular self defense ammo will do in that caliber is ease your suffering.
I reload and will be loading up some big heavy (lol within reason anyway) bear loads, my dad will be doing the same with his .40 cal.

mtnkid85

WKR
How many guys hunt solo in grizzly country? I'm talking high density grizzly country.

I had 4 or 5 guys committed to hunting bow season with me this year and everyone is a flake.

It's my first year elk hunting, and I'm in NW Wyoming in a high grizzly density area. I've always heard archery elk is the best way to get mixed up with a grizzly bear.

I don't mind being out in the mountains with grizzlies when I'm with another guy, but when your alone it gets pretty spooky. I'm new to all of this so I'm sure it will get better with time, but I've got three little kids and that weighs heavy on my mind now compared to how I lived life before children.

So what do you say? Am I over thinking it? Do I need to just go or am I doing the right thing by staying home until I have a partner?

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
I do quite a bit in SW Mt. Ive had a few negative encounters. Train with your chosen bear defense method, whether its a pistol or spray.

Last edited:

2rocky

WKR
I hunted Griz Country 2005-2011 in NW Wyoming with 3 other people during rifle season. I've bumped a griz while stalking a herd of elk, My father had a Griz chew up a carcass he shot at dusk, and we have run into bears who were claiming gut piles.

It is really a different story when you are packing a rifle capable of stopping a charge, vs a bow and spray/pistol. You really can't be an effective bowhunter if you are worrying about a possible bear coming to a dinner bell.

My Griz country rules are :

hunt in pairs and watch each other's back.
Evenings, three hours before sunset, are for scouting.