Archery Elk Co

Hey everyone, I’ve been a member for quite a while, I just tend to browse the chats. Now I’m reaching out to get some input. I’m a CO resident and have only hunted archery OTC for elk up to this point. I’ve been pretty successful doing that. But I’m getting the itch to burn my points.

Looks like I’d be able to draw an archery tag this year. I’m a backcountry hunter, typically will pack in for 6-7 days. I’m not opposed to a pack service though.

Any thoughts or input would be helpful. Thanks.

OP
GL ==———>
So my original post didn’t come through as intended. I know those are the top units, I’m never going to get to that. I have enough points to draw a 49 or 76 tag. My debate is between the two…

svivian

WKR
So my original post didn’t come through as intended. I know those are the top units, I’m never going to get to that. I have enough points to draw a 49 or 76 tag. My debate is between the two…
Hard to say without knowing how many points you have….

Ucsdryder

WKR
I’d do some searches on here and the internet. These units have been compared multiple times.

Here’s my advice, and I hate offering help on specific units. I think we have enough people putting pressure on our elk resources without openly talking about units.

If I’m spending a decades worth of points I am going to get more than 6-7 days out of a unit. I want to scout and scout and scout some more. It’s half the fun!! Once the season starts, a unit that’s 2-3 hours away makes for a great weekend hunt. I’d always pick the unit that is closer and I’d make that 6-7 day hunt a 4 month hunt! Find a couple 300-330” bulls in July and august and you’ll be so excited for September 2 you won’t be able to stand it!

I had a good thing in CO. An OTC unit that produced elk or opportunities ever year I went. For me. Not counting the friends that were in our group when we started in 2006. It was very good to us all. But, there is always a dumbass in any group. Even in small hunting groups.