Any wisdom for a first time miss?

Bigolbill

FNG
To start off, this is my first year seriously hunting. I have a couple friends who have been hunting for a long time who have helped me a lot and have definitely guided me into an ethical hunter. I sat today and watched a couple doe walk by as I have before, telling myself it’s the rut, why would I shoot a doe during the rut? I’ve had so many shots on so many different deer. Many young 6 points or forkies, several doe as well. I have yet to get a deer under my belt as I’ve been trying to hunt like those who have hunted since they were kids do. Pass on the does and young ones for now, maybe bag something a little more impressive.

I got that chance today, I sat for an evening sit, an hour and a half in my heart skipped a beat. I saw the flash of white tipped antlers. It was the first time I had laid eyes on a mature buck. As most people would love this opportunity, this is my first year hunting, and also first year using a compound bow. He was a clean shot, 10 yards. He didn’t even know I was there. Buck fever is real, the adrenaline dump is real. I don’t even remember aiming. I tried very hard but nothing was working, no shot sequence registered, no practice had prepared me for the real thing.

Luckily for him and myself, I missed. I say this because if the shot had landed it could’ve no way been ethical. I feel like I fell apart with the sight of a mature buck in front of me. This is the first deer I have even drawn my bow back for. This entire year I have passed up at least 6-8 shots on various deer because I’m trying to hunt how my friends do.

Do any more experienced hunters have any words of wisdom for a first time archer who missed his first deer? Any tips or tricks to try to settle the mind would be appreciated. I felt like a mess out there after today. Thanks all.

TSAMP

WKR