All Natural????

Rambo

FNG
In 2019 I went on a Ketogenic diet. It worked fantastic for me. I was as fit at 46 as I was when I graduated high school, maybe more so. My acid reflux that I had taken meds for over 12 years was gone, no more meds or Roland’s. And it transferred well into my back country hunts, although ver expensive. My energy level was high on the mountain. The next three years I was super fit and felt great. Admittedly though, I was growing tired of my keto meals and was beginning to cheat much more often in the last year.

Last fall I came home from an unsuccessful, crowded Colorado elk hunt a bit dejected and decided I was going to eat “normal” for a month or so. That month turned into three and about 14 pounds of weight gain. But the worst part was that my acid reflux / indigestion was back with full force. So I started back on Keto mid January and even though my indigestion is gone, I am still gaining weight. Not a lot, but not going down.

This has me thinking about a football coach that I had in high school. He was in his upper 50’s and in stellar shape. The man was ripped. When asked he told me that his first year of college he decided that if it didn’t previously have a heart beat, grow in the ground, or from a vine, it would not go in his body. 100% natural. He said he only cheated once about 3 years into it when he went to a wedding and tried a piece of cake. He said he felt like he had the flu for nearly a week after that cheat and never looked back. It worked for him.

So my question….. has anyone tried an all natural diet like this? Did it work for you? How was your energy level? And if so, what did your meal plan look like on the mountain? This would obviously be much lower carbs than a normal diet but I am concerned that without the fats that I have lived on for so long, my energy level may drop.

Anyone with opinions or expertise, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Loper

WKR