Alaska Wolves Feeding On Marine Mammals

Wolves being wolves.

Like they don’t eat anything they can get their teethe in when they are hungry! Lol

Let’s put a bunch of science nerds on the case and waste a bunch of money.

FLATHEAD

WKR
Ate ALL the deer on the 20 sq. mile island.

Says they're preying on a weak population of Otters.
Possibility of "contaminants".
Were ALL the deer weak too?
Typical wolf study. gimme a break.

OP
G

gbflyer

WKR
Ate ALL the deer on the 20 sq. mile island.

Says they're preying on a weak population of Otters.
Possibility of "contaminants".
Were ALL the deer weak too?
Typical wolf study. gimme a break.

I’m not sure about the deer being weak. They were kinda weird. I know they were extremely inbred, perhaps that’s common, I’m no expert. They had no predators other than a few hunters for decades. It was always a difficult hunt unless the snow pushed them to the beach. Tough, brushy country. Calling didn’t work very well there, it works great everywhere else I’ve been anyway.

I do buy the otter bit…maybe not the contaminant part so much. They have, in the 30 years I have been here, decimated the shellfish population. We had excellent crabbing here as an example. Used to see a couple, then rafts of hundreds. Now they are starting to thin out just a little, at least what I am seeing. Originally the bio’s thought the wolves were eating a couple dead otters that washed up. That doesn’t seem to be the case.