AK Species rules confusion...

dmdude

FNG
I'll post a picture for an example but here is my confusion...

I'm a non resident, so for brown bear, dall sheep, and mtn goat I obviously need a guide to hunt these but why are some listed as "guided non residents only" and some just "non residents only" when I know you have to have a guide for either. Example on the attached picture is Dall Sheep vs Brown Bear.

The next confusion is, are there actual "guided non residents only" moose units as in this example? I thought all moose units didn't need a guide. I think it was my mistake assuming this, but just checking my confusion.

I hope this makes sense!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2023-03-03 at 11.33.06 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2023-03-03 at 11.33.06 AM.png
    242.7 KB · Views: 69
It just means that particular hunt/tag is only available to those folks who fit that category.

Its like that all over Alaska for fishing and otherwise, where guided non-res have different rules than non-guided non res, ect....

OP
D

dmdude

FNG
It just means that particular hunt/tag is only available to those folks who fit that category.

Its like that all over Alaska for fishing and otherwise, where guided non-res have different rules than non-guided non res, ect....
But the Brown Bear doesn't mention needing a guide, but I know any Brown Bear non resident MUST be guided. Unless this is an exception, but I don't see that.

WalterH

Lil-Rokslider
But the Brown Bear doesn't mention needing a guide, but I know any Brown Bear non resident MUST be guided. Unless this is an exception, but I don't see that.

There is an exception. Non-resident hunters can hunt guide-required species in AK with a resident relative who is "2nd Degree of Kindred." There are some differences for military folks as well that get some benefits of residency without meeting the time-in-state requirements of residency.