300 Weatherby Help

norcal7.3

Lil-Rokslider
Hello Everyone,

I sort of hijacked a thread on here about reloading the 300 Weatherby a couple weeks ago and for that I apologize. So heres the deal, Weatherby Accumark in 300 Weatherby, I have tried a few different load combos and am having some issues getting something I find acceptable. I am very new to reloading, but have had great success reloading for a couple of my other rifles (non-weatherby). I started with norma brass, IMR 7828 ssc, Federal 215 match primers, and Nosler 180gr accubonds. First test loads were mostly unsuccessful COL of 3.700 inches, 81 grains of 7828, 82 grains of 7828, 83, and 84 grains of 7828. Best group was with the 84 grains of powder. I had 2 almost touching and one real flyer. Next test load I shortened up the COL to 3.560 as per recommendations on here, similar results ensued with this test group. Now I just got home from the range after shooting 4 more groups of 4 shots with 84 grains of 7828, 84.3, 84.7, and 85 grains. This with a COL of 3.560. I shoot one fouling/warm up shot before group testing. With the 84 grain group I had the first 2 shots touching, one flyer about an inch and a half away and the other about 3 inches away from the first two. The 84.3 and 84.7 shot pretty bad with about a 3 inch total group. The 85 grain group was what I considered the best, it went like this. One shot, second shot about one half inch away, third shot touching the second, and the 4th about 3 inches away from the center of the first 3. Not sure if I flinched it or not, but it felt solid. I was hoping you guys could give me some direction on where to go from here? I have a couple of ideas, but I am very open to all suggestions.

Thanks,

Justin

Mulemania

FNG
Drop down to .1 grain differences above and below the 85g then when you find your most consistent move the seating depth in and out 10tho if it gets better in one direction go another 5 or 10 to see if it gets even better