That’s a very fair point.

That said a good portion of my paycheck goes into the pension, so my take home is a lot less than one would think at 120k.

We also have significant childcare expenses with right now that would be going away in the next few years.
Copy. Just something to consider. When we talk about moving I really try to play with how far my money goes in other places and if comparable jobs pay the same. Most of the time it’s just kind of a wash, best of luck to you! I’ve started to get more interested in remote work as well.

Do it!
I have 4-5 years and ill get 40% of pay after 20 years,still isn’t much but a few grand a month,kicker is i have to wait till 62 to draw,i plan to leave at 52.I have a hs diploma but im ready to work for myself.
We have set it up were we are debt free so i dont have to make as much.I have a good job but im tired of the bs.
We would love to stay in mexico 3 months a year as well so finding my wife something remote is a goal and shouldn’t be difficult as we will both be able to take a pay cut by then.I know the feeling on being trapped and im staying till our 3rd (last) child graduates.
You can do it,you obviously are not lazy.You only live once!

jayhawk

WKR
There are a lot of opportunities out there in aviation. Helicopters, drones, private, local, etc. (I know you'd have to get re-qualified for some of those things). I knew a guy who flew local from Denver to the regionals around Colorado and picked up some instructor classes on the weekend. He seemed to do well financially and was never too late getting home for dinner.

I would start by reaching out to some people you know (like your NCO buddy) and get a solid direction on where you want your career to go. Also, try and figure out if your priority is moving to a new place or getting a new job. This will help make your decision for you.

S.Clancy

WKR