230 gr eldx adequate for bear country?

Wolfy180

FNG
I just started shooting 230 gr eldx this season out of my 338 win mag and they shoot great! This year I was lucky enough to take a nice Muley with them. The shot was 200 yards sharply quartered away it entered through the ribs and was caught up in the far side shoulder. When I recovered the bullet hardly anything was left. Entry hole was also bigger than anything I’ve ever seen from my 338. The rest of the bullet was scattered throughout the animal’s vital cavity. The deer died instantly so no doubt it works. But the bullets performance has me worried now. I live in southern bc and run into grizzlies every year out there. My question is does this bullet have any chance of penetrating enough to stop an angry g bear or is packing these bullets downright irresponsible in bear country? I have the tiny piece I recovered sitting in the garage I’ll snap a pic for reference. Unfortunately it was pitch black by the time I recovered the deer so no pics of the entry wound but it was fist sized. Here’s the only pic I got of the buck before dark IMG_4294.jpeg

gerry35

WKR
Fellow BC hunter here so can relate to what you have to deal with concerning grizzlies. I think you'll do just fine with the 230 gr ELD-X. It's going to do a lot of damage on a bear and penetrate far enough if you need to defend yourself. Hopefully it doesn't come to that though. Congrats on the deer!

OP
Wolfy180

Wolfy180

FNG
Fellow BC hunter here so can relate to what you have to deal with concerning grizzlies. I think you'll do just fine with the 230 gr ELD-X. It's going to do a lot of damage on a bear and penetrate far enough if you need to defend yourself. Hopefully it doesn't come to that though. Congrats on the deer!