Clothing for cold outdoor endurance activities

I remember when I started running it was because it was cheap, I could just go outside and run without paying for a gym membership or needing special equipment. Now that I've been doing it for about 10 years I have accumulated a lot of running specific gear. I guess I'm a great junky? It's obviously still possible to do it cheaply but I'm more comfortable and can stay out longer with good gear. I also mountain bike and see a bit more crossover in clothing usable for both of those pursuits than with hunting clothing.

For a while I ran in shorts no matter the temperature, but I've found that I'm more comfortable in running tights when the temps dip below about 45. My favorites are made by Gore and have windstopper panels along the thighs.

For cooler weather I personally like Merino Wool as an upper layer as long as I'm actively moving. I vary the weight of the merino based on the conditions. For me, merino moves the moisture well and I typically come home with frost on the exterior of the garment but don't feel wet at all. Maybe it's different in other areas with a more humid climate but it works great for me. This is one place that could cross over for hunting for me but I typically keep them separate anyway and use brighter colors for visibility.

I also have a Mountain Hardwear Kor Airshell as a wind layer when needed and that's typically warm enough on most runs for me. I also have a OR Ascendant Hoody for when things get really cold or for activities like hiking. I love the active insulation, it's just more than I typically need for running. Where I live it's rare to get into the single digits and even more so for sub zero during the winters. Most of the winter I'm dealing with temps in the teens to twenties.